PS:

Thank you, everyone, for your lovely comments on the wrap, all who come here regularly or have just found my blog. As some of you asked how it was made I though I would write few lines….

The wrap is all nunofelted, all fabric squares are backed with wool, some with more some with less wool. And, Cedar, I did both: some squares are nunofelted and then sewn, some are felted together = fabric laid on top of the wool. I sew some seams to get more textured and defined look, since the lady wished to have a patchwork looking wrap. I used cotton scrim and muslin, they both give very different texture. And silks of different weights, starting from chiffon, which is the lightest, then ponge, raw silkand and lastly worn out duppion silk which took up the wool very well.

It was very labour intensive, I will rather not tell you the hours I spent making it, but it was well worth the knowledge I have gained. I would love to do more using this technique.

There are also other possibilities how to get a patchwork look. Marian aka Florcita mentioned that squares of felt could be sewn together with fabric, or fabric could be joined with wool and felted, or just pieces of fabric could be laid in some pattern on a layer of wool tops, OR…? Leave a comment here, please, with oter suggestions on ‘how to make a patchwork looking piece’ (blanket, scarf, wrap…)

4 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for the details, it is so gorgeous, and the fact that some of the material is on the top and some on the bottom is a great idea…nice texturing…I am dying to feel it…not much of a hope there…nice work though, and I can only imagine the time it took, but alas, I’m sure you are just lounging around anyway…lol

  2. Isn’ t it interesting how we all think of different ways to do this? I first thought you were going to combine felted squares with fabric… in a “collage” patchwork if you want. Then when I saw the wrap, I thought you had just layed a huge amount of fabric squares and then wool tops…on top 🙂 and felted the whole thing together, the fabrics attaching themselves with the wool… althought that would have been a whole lot of work because you have to control that the individual squares don’ t move etc.
    Then I also thought that you sewn all the fabrics squares, ending with a huge fabric piece, and then added the wool on top…
    So many different way to go about it.

  3. Thank you, Cedar and Marian! You are right, many possibilities, but then you look at the table ( an oval one, 1 x 1,4 m) and it becomes clear which one to choose – lol!

  4. Great tutorial, Monika. I always find it hard to explain how to make felt balls – perhaps that’s because the way I do it is more complicated? I love the way you do it! 🙂

Leave a comment