Flickr Favourites Tuesday

Shibui

  • refers to a particular aesthetic of simple, subtle, and unobtrusive beauty
  • to do things beautifully without making them excessive or gaudy
  • beautiful by being understated, or by being precisely what it was meant to be and not elaborated upon
  • understated elegance, utility (each piece serves an important function), rare beauty, and unobtrusive sophistication

1. Untitled 2. Meeting of the two 3. Shibui street 4. Different

found via Shibui pool on Flickr.

More  on Shibui here, here (there  are some very interesting discussions too).

I can’t stop thinking about the meaning of this word. New to me,  so close to my aesthetics.

***** more Flickr favorites over at ArtMind*****

5 Comments

  1. I LOVE this word. It absolutely describes what I am trying to find in my own work right now. I also think it is something very present in your own.:-)

Leave a comment