flower/form/shape

 

I was tidying a bouquet today and have decided to dry wilted roses upside down when some of the petals fell off. Their shape and especially form and colour caught my eye. Wouldn’t they make lovely vessels? Or little boats for tiny creatures? Here they are arranged with some eucalyptus leaves I found on yesterday’s walk and with green ones from our garden.

leaves composition

I have kept the old roses so that I could have a closer look at the way their petals are constructed and perhaps, interpret it freely in felt. During last school year I was teaching feltmaking classes which will resume again in September and one of the project will be complex flower brooch. Today, I made a prototype and as it often happens, one idea leads to another so I might try few more designs.

felted brooch

5 thoughts on “flower/form/shape

Leave a Reply

