solar dyeing

with daffodils from our garden.

I put dry flowers in a jar along with alum mordanted merino wool and silks and poured boiling water over. The sun would heat the jar everyday for about a week.

It has started to ferment and doesn’t smell nice, but I still like the look of it.

An unknown plant I bought 3 years ago at a dyeing workshop and forgot to write down the name. It has got small white flowers with small yellow narrow petals and fresh green leaves. Doesn’t give much color.

and the results

unknown plant : daffodils

8 thoughts on “solar dyeing

  1. I should try some of this. I have actually already with elderberries but I didnt get all that much. Well, I did but the moment I rinsed, it was gone!
    It’s nice to experiment anyway!

      • oh wonderful – i hadn’t realised – thanks for the knowledge and the beautiful dyeing – amazing you still have daffs to use – mine all shrivelled months ago, but then I am in London, its so much warmer here, all bulbs are over quickly !

  2. Dear Monika, thank you so much for a nice idea! I will try here in Cyprus for sure with the silks. If you don’t mind me asking, how much mordant did you use? Thank you so much in advance.

Leave a Reply

