something old…

I  made these two pieces back in June and only now got round to taking pictures. The tunic is part of the ‘From Rugs to Richies’ series, but this time I have used mainly handdyed cotton in various shades of blue and lavander, with a bit of red silk. The inside is in various blues as well and the top is fully reversible as there are no seams.

The shorter dress is again nunofelted merino into fine cotton and fully covered with silk fibre. If you have worked with silk , either threads or just loose fibre, you will know what patience it requires to cover such area – well, I didn’t but I know now. At one point I almost gave up, looking at this nevereding task and a nearby bin… This is trully One of The Kind, I don’t think I will ever make something similar again.

Both pieces are now available in my Etsy shop (please click on any picture) or contact me directly at red2white at btinternet dot com. There are also few felted clothes on sale till the end of December 2010. Please, check Clothing section in my shop.

4 thoughts on “something old…

  1. they are both absolutely gorgeous! I can imagine that the second one, with silk fibres getting entangled into everything, must have been quiet a pain!

Leave a Reply

