My dyepots had to give way to the cooking pots as we are enjoying visit of our parents and there is less fibre related going on at the moment, but I don’t want to keep you waiting any longer with the pictures of my latest natural dyeing, here they are

Bottom left is eucalyptus leaves on alum mordanted merino, on the right the same after iron modified has been used. I am not sure how  much the color on the screan is close to reality – which is paler/soft olive green. Above, there is madder, the second exhaust and next to it silk from the same dyebath.

And here is felt, madder on alum and eucalyptus leaves modified with iron. I am both surprised and delighted by these colors, madder this time is much stronger that what I ever achieved before and I only used half of the weight of the wool, but it was in a powder form.

Today we went for a walk to the Loch Ness beach. The clouds were low, the air still, so was the water. The silence was cut only by birds rushing through the bushes. Young and old/er we admired the colors of leaves, the variety of ripen berries, shapes and details of mashrooms, acorns and thick carpet of fern – before the winter sets in.

2 thoughts on “

  1. Is that red felt as deep in person as it looks here? It’s incredible! I’m going to have to see if I can find madder. Love your dye results.

Leave a Reply

