Excuse my absence here, we are just past two weeks of spring holidays and a lovely visit of my parents. Thus, there was a lot of talking, playing, going out and coming in, walking…. for example in the Culloden Woods and meeting all kinds of wooden creatures carved into tree trunks, like this Gruffallo and the little mouse who scared him off.

If you ever happen to be in Culloden do go for this short pleasant walk. There are about 9 woodcarvings at the moment and the path will take you to the Culloden house , which “more than two centuries ago Bonnie Prince Charlie used as his battle headquarters prior to that fateful and final battle on Culloden Moor“.

However, I managed to sqeeze in a little bit of making related activities:

1. I went to an interesting workshop on Web Marketing, organized by Hi-Arts, organization supporting art and craft in the Highlands and Islands. Sian, Audience Development Coordinator spoke about everything one needs to know to do marketing on-line – now just to put it into practice :)! She is on Twitter and Facebook and plans to post links to useful info on this topic, so if you are interested you might like to follow her.

2. I took pictures of little things I don’t need anymore, mohair tops, mix of different fibres and Feltmaking DVD on felting garments and listed it in my SoftFibre shop. Sometimes it takes so long to put things from a shelve to the ‘shop‘ shelve! I have started a huge decluttering and hope to list some of the most interesting things from my stash in the near future.

3. I also took pictures and listed nunofelted top  which I had made before the holidays. With each piece I make I am trying to use either different material or different cut/pattern/style and see what happens. This top has sleeves which are not nunofelted and is made from very open weave cotton fabric. It’s featherlight and very pleasant to wear.

Looking ahead – this is going to be a year with many and rather long interruptions. Except all little holidays here and there the children get these days, we are planning to go home for four weeks and will have our in-laws in the autum for couple of weeks as well. So, if you don’t see me here I am either frantically felting or having a compulsory break :).

7 thoughts on “

  1. What a busy lady!
    Glad you had a good time with your folks!

    Culloden woods sounds fab…could you possibly email me with directions on how to get there – Gabriella would love to see the Gruffalo!

  2. Hi Doda! The path starts right next to the small industrial estate, which is next to the Harry Gow. In fact it is between the industrial estate and the “entrance” to the Culloden Forest. If you go down the Tower Road, it is almost at it´s end, on the right side. Hope it helps and have a lovely walk!

  3. Good morning,

    Just checking to see if you’ve already sold the feltmaking DVD on garment making? I checked and didn’t find it, so perhaps it’s already gone.

    Thanks so much,
    Dawn

  4. Well, I got terribly late to that DVD. I would have liked it. Any ideas where I can get it???

    Well, those types of “interruptions” are pretty interesting. Travelling, spening time with friends, family…. excellent!

  5. I simply love this gauze and felt top and so did someone else, I see, because you’ve already sold it: good for you!
    I am looking forward to receiving the items I ordered from your soft fibre store.

    Lucie

  6. Thanks so much. I did receive your email and really appreciate your taking the time to let me know. Thanks again. Hope you’ve had a great weekend.

    Take care,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

