making warm

mg jacket b4This is what kept me busy last week – felted jacket for our older daughter. As they stretch from year to year I always have a list of things I  need to make for them. In fact just making for them  and here and there for myself + making presents would keep me so busy there would be nothing to sell. So, as often, there has to be a compromise.

mg jacket in white b1

At first, I made the jacket in white. It was already well felted and still fitted me! I worried I would overfelt it and it would be too stiff if I felt it further to shrink to my daughter’s size. To avoid this + the fact it fitted me so well I was tempted to keep it for myself. BUT she really needs something warm and I already have a jacket… so I decided to take a risk and kept felting until I reached her size.

mg jacket b1

When it was finished we discussed colours, she wanted bluish – and I dyed it teal. Not that I didn’t like blue, I just didn’t mix the right dye proportions, but she forgave me :). At first she complained that “the sleeves are stiff and it is sooo annoying!”, but then she has been wearing it since I finished it, even inside – so I think it is still a big success!

The jacket is  made of merino wool 21 micron. A disadvantage of dyeing after felting is that I didn’t achieve even colours, instead a marbled effect. It is nice and interesting, showing that the item is handmade, but there are one or two spots where the differences in the hue are greater  than I would like. The buttons are provisional, the brooch is made by one lovely friend from our local sewing group.

mg jacket b2

mg jacket b3

11 thoughts on “making warm

  1. Oh my gosh…this jacket is so darn cute! And I love the last photo in this group. I can tell she really loves the jacket. Are you going to make one for yourself too? The buttons and everything are so perfect on this piece.

  2. Wow, what a clever Mum you are! A lot of work I should think, but well worth your efforts. It’s lovely 🙂

  3. I WANT ONE TOO!!!! I love the neck! It’s gorgeous Monika… one lucky daughter you have. I see a whole line of jackets for girls coming up… Monika’s empire… 🙂

  4. Thank you, thank you!

    Marianne – I made one for myself when I was at the Charlotte Buch’s course, will test it this winter :).

    Cedar – I join parts of the jacket at the prefelt stage to achieve this tailored fit. At the end it looks seamless.

    Fibersapace – looking forward to see yours :).

    Marian – there will be one more, most probably for me as our feltmaker’s group is having workshop with Jenny Mackay on making cobweb felt jackets. Seems that jackets are my felt fate 🙂

  5. I absolutely love the color variance! Much nicer I thank than a completely even look.

    I shall order some coarser wool and make me one too..

    Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

