Thank you everyone for the comments you left here! So you really come and read this?! 🙂 I always think, there are soooo many blogs these days, so many of us who write…, is there anyone having time to read at all? I am going to keep you busy – I hope to post everyday – that is everyday when I have managed to do something creative :).

Fiona, it is comforting to know that you have similar experience with Procion dyes. With wool and silk I was used to having clear water after the dyeing is finished, with procion I could dye and dye getting paler and paler shades…. Will need to do some reading on this, Ruth Issett has written book on this.

Doda,  I am very well, thank you! And I have got an invitation for you and anybody close enough to come to the Beginners Feltmaking workshop organized by the Hihland Feltmaker’s Group. It is on September 26th, Saturday in Dingwall. There is more info about it here.

Marian, you are very close to it. I start seeing patches and squares everywhere now, have been thinking about making some clothes from fabric remnants I have had for ages…. but today I did this:

tissue pattern 1b

thinking, as you Fiona do, how to make something big in a small space I have available…

tissue pattern 2b

glueing, cutting, more cutting and then glueing. I remember one lady saying how weird patchwork is, you buy a fabric, cut it into pieces and then have to sew all of them again…mmm

And then I carded

carding 1b

hoorey, let’s play!

carding 2b

carding 4b

scarlet, violet and red dyed merino + scarlet dyed tencel

carding 6b

I use bamboo placemat to get the fibres from the carder. Roll in and then reroll, saw it on YouTube.

carding 8b

Finished. 100 gms in one hour. I measured the time today to see if carding is time consuming or if I just think so… still not sure, but feel more positive, especially when I see the results.

Fiona, I am using Louet carder, the wider one. But as I bought it second hand from Joni  I don’t know for what type of wool it is made – if for coarser or finer or what the market has to offer these days.

Today, also, my first hand spindle arrived! A year ago I never thought of spinning. Then I bought some wool and discovered that it is superwash = chemically treated so that it would NOT felt (thank you very much!). I mean A LOT of wool in different thickness. OK, I thought, I will try to sell it ( you can find it in my SoftFibre etsy shop). But I also thought, maybe, it is time to learn spinning…. Then in June I saw the book Intertwined and I was sure it IS time  to learn spinning, but didn’t feel ready to buy the wheel… until someone suggested to buy a spindle. Of course! So I did and it is here

spindle b

and apart from the spindle, atumn is here too! Look what I have found on the way back from the nursery…

autumn b

5 thoughts on “

  1. Wonderful post. I love your carding- I am too impatient for it. The results are so subtle.
    It is great to read about your work again. I have really missed your blog. You are very inspirational – I know you don’t see yourself that way, but it is true. Look how for you have come and the depth of your knowledge. Basically self taught through excellent exploration.
    You definitely inspire me.

  2. I love your batts – luscious colours. And the apple, you have a wonderful way of presenting things – I agree with joniphippin, you are inspirational!

    Thanks for the info about the carder – I am just a little bit excited now because on Tuesday I bought a used drum carder on Ebay – a Louet! I have been reading a lot on Ravelry about carders and I think that though now Louet do an extra fine cloth, they used only to do fine cloth (and their ‘fine’ is only 46 tpi). So that’s probably what you have (and me – soon!). It is the same one that Lexi Boeger uses in the Intertwined book, apparently. Glad to see that you’re getting such lovely results carding merino with it. I am really struggling with my hand carding technique (lack of!!) – I just got a pair of fine hand carders (120tpi) to see if that would help, but if anything I’m now making even more lumps and knots than with my battered old coarse ones.

Leave a Reply

