New Adventures

I am learning to crochet. So far I have mastered crocheting in a spiral, dc – double crochet and tr – treble crochet :). I don’t remember when exactly I have started to be interested in this technique, problably when I saw some crochet beads. My interest has been growing and growing, so I bought – a book, then another. Then Mitsy from Artmind asked me, if I wanted to join her while she crochets this beautiful piece, so I couldn’t wait any longer and picked up a hook.

Now, the systematic me was fighting with the spontaneous me: should I start from scratch, learning stitches, making a sampler… or should I just go for a project? The second one won (but the first one is still very demanding ๐Ÿ™‚ and here is the result.

The choker is a project I saw in this book. Seemingly I didn’t count the stitches properly as the pattern should be all round and I used a different thread so it is more loose…, but still wearable. I like wearing fibre jewellery as it is very soft, I hardly feel it. This is soft, except the wire neck ring, which helps to keep a nice shape – but I was thinking of using a leather thong/cord instead to make itย  softer. Worth trying.

bead necklace b

crochet 2b

Making this I have learned how to crochet with beads and used it to change the design of my crochet ring.

bead ring b2

bead ring b

6 thoughts on “New Adventures

  1. That is very beautiful!
    I’ve been learning how to crochet too. Had to do with a piece I was making and I had to “fix it” a bit and I thought..aaaaah! crochet. So googled it and so far I learnt how to make circles, squares and the double thingy but I didn’t know about a treble!!!! too complicated!
    The nice thing about crochet is that once you get the hang of it (in a very simple way in my case) you can do it whilst talking to other people, watching tv… in the garden… very handy. This one i keep as a hobby… ๐Ÿ™‚ love the chocker

  2. Lovely – I especially like the ring – a great idea. Despite having been crocheting for a while, I’ve not yet attempted to crochet jewelry – it’s something I really must try. I love the idea of using beads in my crochet. So many ideas…. so little time….. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh wow, Monika! I can’t believe that you made such a beautiful necklace in no time! How do you do the beads?
    Very impressed here! While I’m working away on my silly squares, I’m very happy to know you joined me in a crochet project! Thanks heaps – I love your crochet work! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What a beautiful piece of jewellery… hard to believe you’re just a beginning crocheter! I loved your choice of yarn and beads; the design, yarn, and color just seem to flow.

    That book is now on my wish list!

    Diane

Leave a Reply

