felting with yarn

Today I was hoping to take some pictures of scarves I made last week, but it has been one of those grey wintery days + as we are nea the shortest day of the year, before I noticed it was dark again. I can show you the ones I made some time ago and haven’t posted about them yet.  You might have seen them on my Flickr account or in my shop – well, there is not much synchronicity between my blog and the rest :). 

 chunky1-b

chunky2-b

This time it is not felted, but sewn together. It was first in ecru, then I dyed it on the hob with three different shades of purple and pink. I hope to make more of this type exploring different colourways.

natur-b

 This is another fishnet scarf, all natural colours, mixture of merino, BFL, Shetland wool, soya fibre and madder dyed merino, combined with  greyish yarn. I first blended all the fibres on the carder then felted.

And here these are again different variations on felting with yarn:

teal-b

black-b

I was pleased how this black came out, real jet black, 5 % DOS, dyed on the hob and instead of vinegar I used citric acid.  And from the exhaust I got lovely greyish-navy-brown.

4 thoughts on “felting with yarn

  1. Love all the colors. I wish I knew how to dye! I’m really looking forward to that. And the textures to achieve with the yarn and wool are just great. Really beautiful!

  2. You know I love all three scarfs as I already commented on them on Flickr!
    Amazing how black that is! Great! Can you tell me what is a hob? It probably has something to do with dying but I’m such a newbie on that field! Love to learn! 😉

Leave a Reply

