Yellow in Scotland (part 1)

Right behind our house there is a field full of yellow dyeplants: dyer’s broom and gorse. But it is actually everywhere you look now in Scotland. So beautiful! And so great to have such stock of a yellow dye right at the doorstep. It means that I can experiment for free.

I have dyed with gorse again. I love the yellow it gives. Non of the pictures depict it well, it is baby yellow, soft yellow colour which turns into egg yolk yellow after washing soda dip, or even darker, depending on the dyeplant:fibre ratio.

I have tried dyer’s broom as well. It is supposed to contain the same yellow as historical dye weld, but in smaller amount per square meter. Oh, but here are hundreds of meters of it here right now. The yellow is brighter that the yellow from gorse, more greenish. And if the fibre is left in the dyebath longer the colour dulls (as in my case, I haven’t read the recipe properly. No wonder I am not a great cook. But I might be after all this dyeing :).

And because I wasn’t very gentle to the fibre, most of it felted more than “healthy”. No pulling wisps or tufts. First I thought I would handcard it. Then I decided to just spread individual slivers into sort of pre-felts…

…. and have quite a few bats.

I would (o, o, o!!!) like to try to make a jacket out of them. So now I am off to felt. I will be back when “the thing” is done. Fingers crossed there will be part 2 to this post.

6 thoughts on “Yellow in Scotland (part 1)

  1. Wow! It is amazing how your posts have changed with your new adventure into dying wool:) The colors and stories have brightened…and with spring here, perhaps this is an additional joy:)
    Susan

  2. Wow I am so intrigued by all your natural dying experiments – the colours are so wonderful! Good luck with more feltmaking – I shall look forward to seeing the end result

  3. That is an amazing batt of wool. How heavy is it? How did you dye all of it together? Will you felt all of it? I can’t wait to see your jacket. Yellow is a very popular color this year!

Leave a Reply

