Memories of (un)freedom

It has been such a busy month so far, or just my mind is busy? Possibly…
I was struggling at the beggining with this month concept for Take it Further. Then it cracked and here I am with a finished cloth and 12 postcards all based around the same theme: freedom.

Freedom is a wonderful thing – whether a freedom of nation or a personal one: to be free to go, to do, to say (or not to go, do or say) , to be yourself, to be free inside … To be free like a bird…    (Like from worries and doubts, for example. Does a bird worry??? Who can tell…)

previous posts here, here and here

10 thoughts on “Memories of (un)freedom

  1. Thank you very much, Jude, for your words. I am a long time lurker of your blog and love your work, so they are especially appreciated. Monika

  2. I think I have complimented the bird motif before! If I didn’t, shame on me! I love it! Do you mind if I copy it? It is so clean in style.

    The way you expressed your thoughts into fabric amazed me…again!

  3. Monika, I really like the way some of stitching is more definateand some is delicate. There is s strong tradition of red stitching on white. Well done.

  4. I love everything about this, the symbolism is very moving, the stitching is wonderful and your bird is so joyful. I hope birds don’t worry! (Matt 6:26)

  5. Monika, your work is breathtaking! I’m glad I found your blog. I love the symbolism, and the topic. I think I understand what you mean when you say everything was grey back then in an earlier post. I had the same impression on a day spent in eastern Berlin before the fall of the comunists there. I used to be politically interested in my youth, for me it was hard to keep politics out of this one. And now I’m in the middle of doing a series of postcards on political events I remember during my youth, and try to keep peace movement kitsch and pics of tanks out of it.

    I also like very much how you share how you did all this. I’m currently experimenting with painted bondaweb and it is very valuable for me to see what others are doing with it. Thanks!

  6. Pingback: A Letter (response to the comment) « Red 2 White

Leave a Reply

