grey and motifs

continued from here 

I was thinking of working in two layers for my February TIF challenge. The first, bottom one would be embroidered with some of the motifs from our traditional embroidery. I see traditional embroidery as something by which we can identified a nation or at least a region where a nation belongs to. My other aim was to look closer at our traditional embroidery since I have not been interested in it in the past (and I am ashamed of it a little bit). Typical colours for our region would be reds and oranges, sometimes in combination with yellow and blue and black. To me they are joyfull colours. Motifs are flowery and ornate, with quite a lot of swirls.
On the left side I am thinking of making another layer representing the period of the communist regime in our history. As I wrote before to me all that era could be described in one word: grey. I would like to make left part greyish gradually changing into red on the right side.
I thought of these possibilities:
* Grey/black chiffon stitched down to the ground cloth and then distorted by a heat gun. I think it would make that lovely peeling effect so much similar to neglected town centers and buildings.
But – I have no heat gun.
* Grey wool/chiffon embellished on the top of the left part of the ground cloth. But – I have no embellisher.
* Painted bondaweb and then glued to the ground cloth. Have a look here and here to see what it looks like.
* Painting/sponging that left part with a paint.
The last too are feasible, but doen’t create an ilusion of another layer.
Yes, I am stuck like a I havn’t been for a long time. I can’t decide what to use as a ground cloth, if to paint it or not, how big it should all be and if I want to embroider it or make an altered book (I have no book to alter at home…) or just leave it in my journal. Hmmm.

continued here

6 thoughts on “grey and motifs

  1. I know next to nothing about the techniques you have mentioned. However, I believe that you are onto something here.

    The image of grey and pealing…or buildings in disrepair moving into more joyful colors and then the image goes full circle to embracing the world that you love. Seems to me there is a big reason that you have waited to revisit (or find interest) in traditional embroidery.

    I enjoy learning about you through your art. Your world is rich and the history is so close…

    Looking forward to seeing where you will take this:)
    Susan
    http://www.organicsyes.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: paintsponges « Red 2 White

  3. Nice to see you back, Bevsedgehills!

    I have red about painting on Bondaweb in two books, it seem’s to be an old trick among contemporary embroiderer’s, but this is the first time I have tried it. It is acrlylic paint, rather deluted with water. Only then it makes nice patterns. If the paint is too thick then the image is not patterned. It is supposed to look even better with metalic paints.

    I painted it with diluted black acrylic (could also be a fabric) paint and then wanted to prompt drying process with a heat gun! Only later I realized that I am heating Bondaweb and might have problems to peel it off from the paper!!! So I better stopped. No disaster, it worked even with a heat gun, but I wouldn’t use it again. Then I just ironed it on a cotton cloth.

    Yes, I am a fun of Bondaweb too, it also stops fabrics from fraying. And I use it a bit like a glue too. Like for bonding the dried flowers on a tea bags.
    Monika

  4. Pingback: Memories of (un)freedom « Red 2 White

Leave a Reply

