lavender house

It is finished, the quilt is born.

To me the creative process is like being pregnant and giving a birth. First, there are ideas. Sometimes more, sometimes less. I try to catch them in my journal. Some of them happily settle there, but one or two are persistent and keep bouncing back to my mind. As the time goes I become “heavily pregnant” with them. They grow like a baby in a womb. The nearer the birth the busier my hands are, the more focused my mind is. It is like preparing a room for a baby.
When the day comes I am excited, relieved, happy, satisfied, tired – and surprised! I look at the piece and often think: So this is what “came out of me”, why? Why did I choose those fabrics, threads, techniques? Does it picture the original idea? And the piece speaks back…

There are houses because my current occupation is a housewife. I look up to families where love and peace is very real and present. Practical love, it’s deeds. The one which does not seek it’s own – hence the cross. (Please, see my previous post for more details.)

Behind the cross stitched hearts there are little amounts of lavender sewn in to represent nice smell which such homes spread around. Besides, in Slovak, we have a saying similar to “home sweet, home” but it literally is “a scent of home” meaning that a (our) home is usually very special to us.

I was making this quilt with yet another meaning in my mind, thinking about what’s in The Bible: “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him and he with me”. He who is Love and Peace says “I will live in them, I will be their God and they will be my people”.

(more pictures here)

14 thoughts on “lavender house

  1. This does speak to me of love and peace and haven – it brought to mind the heart of flesh in Ezekiel 11:19 as well. I really like the clever way you’ve pieced the houses.

  2. This is beautiful! I can’t even express how wonderful this is and how your description of the process touches me. A fantastic job and a very moving sentiment. Good job Mommy!

    From another Mommy who understands.

  3. I really like the little quilt you have created, and I like small little touches and details – the lavender and the little hearts. So simple and direct.How big is the little quilt?

  4. What sweet little houses!

    In response to your (and other people’s) questions on transfer paints I wrote a post specific to them.

    Thanks for your kind words –

  5. Pingback: l o v e « Red 2 White

Leave a Reply

