50 % off…

Yesterday we received in mail 50 % off the first book voucher from Borders bookstore. Too good offer to overlook so after puting the girls to bed off I went to check their bookshelfs (only those who subscribe to Borders e-newsletter got this and other vouchers, last time it was 5 £ off). Sadly, the department with art and craft books is diminishing, slowly but surely. However, I have bought World Textiles , it was on my wishing list for too long.  “This is the first book to illustrate (in nearly 800 sumptuous colour photographs and drawings) the whole range of traditional handmade textiles from all over the globe, classified by materials and technique rather than age or country. “(Amazon) Wonderful book, excellent pictures and source of information. I am fascinated by all the patterns.

Whenever I am there I check the magazine department too. In the Somerset Studio I found  gallery of lovely work by Genevieve Pfeiffer. She is mainly a painter, but uses paper, stitches and plans to use jewellery on canvas. Her paintings are very joyous. She has started to paint only after she had retired early from her teaching job. This is what I would looove to do when I grow big :), I would love to take some drawing and painting courses and play with paints… and learn to play on a piano too…

Another magazines which I have found inspirational recently are Country Living and Country Homes and Interiors. Full of nice pictures, features about people who make living making craft things or providing “craft” services (wrapping presents!, catering) and even some simple craft projects.

But, I haven’t been reading only. I have managed to finish my presents, they are all ready to be dispatched – now it’s too late to take pictures. So tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

