Skip to content

felting

November 29, 2013

It’s nice to felt again. I have been felting Christmas presents so can’t show more, but they are all little objects where I am exploring texture, colour and combination of both.

I wonder – do you associate handmade felt with colour? Is it one of the strengths of handmade woollen felt – the possibility to make a very colourful cloth? Or does it’s beauty lie in the material itself, the fact that wool is a natural and rather luxurious material? I would very much love to know what you think!

 

textured felt by red2white

felt by red2white

felting wool, red2white

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2013 2:35 pm

    As much as I love color, I feel with felted cloth the intrinsic beauty is in the materials. I love the textures and warmth of the wool.
    I’m happy to see you felting again! You do it so well! :)
    For that matter, you do everything well! You are an artist!!

  2. November 30, 2013 11:11 am

    I love colour, in felt and in anything. But I also love felt which utilises the natural range of fleece colours. So I’d have to say both :)

  3. November 30, 2013 11:32 am

    I think felt is about textures, colour and, in hand-made form, the actual physical process of working a textile form or fabric from simple fibres. It has an amazing transformative potential. I love the colours and textures in your pictures. LizSeville.wordpress.com Principally Felt

  4. November 30, 2013 7:12 pm

    I love the “microcosmos” which can be created by using natural coloured fibers. On the other hand in this time of year I long for some colours :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

